Deanery Liaison Officer Initiative

Member Login


Membership is open to all psychiatrists working in Ireland and overseas. We also offer membership to medical students and interns absolutely free. The College membership year runs from 1st November to 31st October.

Section Menu

Contacts For Members

The Trainee Committee represents the Trainee voice within the College of Psychiatrists of Ireland and aims to improve the standard of training in Psychiatry around the country, and the experience of training itself. There have been significant changes in training over the past number of years, including, but not limited to, the development of the training curriculum, the Irish clinical exam, streamlined training and pre-defined rotations.

The Trainee Committee are of the view that it is imperative that Trainees nationally are kept abreast of any changes to training in a timely fashion. It is understandable that Trainees may have questions about these changes and need support with these queries external to their Training Centre or Deanery. The Trainee Committee wish to improve two-way communication between the Committee itself and Trainees nationally and thus have created the Deanery Liaison Officer (DLO) Initiative.

A member of the Trainee Committee will now act as nominated DLO for each of the nine Deaneries of Training in Psychiatry. Each DLO is named point of contact for Trainees or NCHDs in CPD-SS posts (registered with the College of Psychiatrists of Ireland for PCS) in each Deanery, accessible through the administrator for the Trainee Committee in the College.

Please see below for details of your relevant Trainee Committee Deanery Liaison Officer.
Please forward any queries to Ms Iryna Pariyarath at




University of Galway Deanery Prof Colm McDonald Dr Sara Burke
University of Galway/RCSI Deanery Prof Geraldine McCarthy Dr Louisa Gannon
RCSI Prof David Cotter Dr Eimear Counihan
TCD EK Dr Eamonn Kenny Dr Niamh Murray
TCD SM Dr Sorcha McManus Dr Niamh Crowley
UCC Dr Karen O’Connor Dr John Malaka
UCD/MMUH Dr Gearoid Moynihan Dr Maura Grummel
UCD/SVUH Prof Mary Clarke Dr Faye Carrington
UL Dr John McFarland Dr Seán Crowley