

28<sup>th</sup> March 2024

## GUIDELINES TRAINEE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS 2024

- There are a total of 26 members of the TC, made up of BST Trainees, HST Trainees and non-training NHCDs, as follows:
  - 1. 24 elected members
  - 2. 2 ex-officio places for the immediate past committee Chair & Vice-Chair.
- Vacant positions are advertised annually in April-May.
- Members of the committee can serve up to a maximum of 2 consecutive 2-year terms.
- All NCHDs who are currently **fully subscribed Members of the College** are eligible to be nominated for participation in the Trainee Committee.
- All nominees will require proposing and seconding by two registered and fully subscribed NCHD <u>OR</u> Consultant Members of the College.
- Every two years the Committee elects a Chair and Vice-Chair from amongst its membership. The ex-officio positions for same will hold for a 1-year term.

## Election process 2024:

- 1. Application and nomination forms will be issued by email on Tuesday, **16/04/24**. Only those received back in the College by close of business (5pm) on Friday, **3/05/24** will be considered for election.
- 2. If the number of received membership applications exceeds **6** then an email ballot process will be held. The election process will be by secret ballot, overseen by the College Personnel working with the Committee (Presently Ms Iryna Pariyarath).
- 3. The information provided in the nominees' application form will be distributed among fully subscribed NCHD College members on Wednesday, **8/05/24**, with a voting deadline of 15pm Friday, **24/05/24**.
- 4. To promote geographical trainee representation, a nominee will be elected from each deanery which is currently unrepresented on the committee (where received). A BST and HST member should preferably



5 Herbert Street, Dublin 2 www.irishpsychiatry.ie Tel: (01) 661 8450 Fax: (01) 685 4291

represent each deanery on the committee, and applicants currently in training will be given preference over non-training NCHD applicants accordingly. All remaining vacancies will be filled by NCHDs with the highest number of votes for a two-year term, beginning from June 2024.

5. We would be grateful if all new members could make arrangements where possible to attend the induction Committee meeting, scheduled to take place on Tuesday,**4/06/2024**.

Kein Lelly

Dr Kevin Lally *Chair of the Trainee Committee* 2022 – 2024

Dr Rebecca Conlan-Trant Chair of the Trainee Committee 2022 - 2024